EAA Awards 2018 - Shortlist Announcement

The Edinburgh Architectural Association is pleased to announce the shortlist for the 2018 EAA Awards. In total 58 submissions were received, all projects are designed by registered architects and built within the chapter area, with exception to the Ambassador Award which is built out with the chapter.

The format of the awards changed in 2017 to enable all entries built within the chapter area, Large, Small, Regeneration & Conservation and Wood to become eligible for the highest accolade of Building Of The Year. The awards are now also open to chartered architects working in other areas of the UK, who have completed projects within the chapter area.


2018 EAA Awards Shortlist


Large Project:


6 St Andrew Square - Hoskins Architects & CDA

Equine Diagnostic, Surgical and Critical Care Unit - Sheppard Robson Architects

Leith Fort - Collective Architecture and Malcolm Fraser Architects

McEwan Hall - LDN Architects

New Boroughmuir High School - Allan Murray Architects Ltd

St Cecilia's Hall, Concert Room and Music Museum - Page Park Architects

Small Projects:

Contemporary Extension and Interior, Edinburgh New Town- Capital A Architecture

Live:Eat:Cook - David Blaikie Architects

Porteous' Studio - Izat Arundell

Scone Gardens - Fernandes-Binns Architects

Regeneration and Conservation:


Greenside - ISA

McEwan Hall - LDN Architects

St Cecilia's Hall, Concert Room and Music Museum - Page Park Architects

The Patrick Geddes Centre - LDN Architects

Wood Award:


Bath Street Collective Custom Build - John Kinsley Architects

Mole End Cottage - Somner Macdonald Architects

Scone Gardens - Fernandes-Binns Architects

Ambassador Award:


An Crùbh - WT Architecture

Orchard Brae Complex Needs School - JM Architects

Perth Theatre - Richard Murphy Architects Ltd

The Coach House - :That Studio Chartered Architects Ltd

The Piece Hall and Calderdale Central Library & Archives - LDN Architects

Our judges this year are EAA Council Members, Rob Goodburn RIAS and Tom Rainey RIAS. Joining Rob and Tom are Denise Bennetts FRIAS - Director of Bennetts Associates and Dallas Mechan - Museums, Archives and Galleries Manager at ON with Fife Cultural Trust.

The awards results will be announced at a celebratory drinks event at the Edinburgh Centre for Carbon Innovation on Thursday 24th May 2018 from 6pm-9pm. A limited number of tickets for the event are available free of charge to architects within the Chapter area of Edinburgh, the Lothians, the Borders and south Fife. These can be obtained by applying to Stuart Bryce at events@eaa.org.uk. Tickets will be allocated on a first-come, first-served basis.

An exhibition showcasing the shortlisted entries is due to be held at the RIAS, Joyce B Deans room at 15 Rutland Square, Edinburgh in May 2018. This will be open to the public from 9.00am until 5.00pm Monday to Friday.

The shortlisted entry submissions can be viewed here.

The 2018 EAA Awards are generously sponsored by Fakro, Russwood, TJ Ross, Cupa Pizarras, Sika, Forestry Commission Scotland and Wood for Good.

2017 Award winners :

Top images from left to right: Dunfermline Carnegie Library & Galleries by Richard Murphy Architects - © M Lambie, Holyrood North Student Accommodation & Outreach Centre by Oberlanders Architects / JM Architects & John C Hope Architects - © Chris Humphreys, Dalkeith Country Park Including Restoration Yard & Fort Douglas by Buccleuch Estates in association with Malcolm Fraser Architects & Blue Forest - © King Communications, Rievaulx Abbey Visitor Centre & Museum Project by Simpson & Brown Architects - © Giles Rocholl, Trinity by Crew Architects - © Dapple Photography, Thistle Foundation Centre Of Wellbeing by 3D Reid - © Cadzow Pelosi and Ravelston Dykes Lane by Konishi Gaffney Architects - © David Barbour

Last modified at 9:35am on Fri 25th January 2019