EAA Awards 2016 - Shortlist Announced

EAA Awards 2016 Shortlist


The Edinburgh Architectural Association is pleased to announce that the following projects have been short listed for the 2016 EAA Awards.

In total 34 submissions were received. All projects are designed by registered architects and built within the chapter area, with exception to the Ambassador Award which is built out with the chapter.

Building of the Year:

Murphy House, Hart Street - Richard Murphy Architects

Solid House - Beecher Architect

Westfield Avenue Phase Two - 7N Architects

Regeneration and Conservation:

Rosyth Parish Church - City Architecture Office

Saltcoats Steading - Aitken Turnbull Architects

Woodhall House - Lorn Macneal Architects

Small Projects:

"It’s Bigger on the Inside" - David Blaikie Architects

Newbattle Gardens - Craig Amy Architect

Sydserf - Sutherland & Co Architects

The Causeway - Konishi Gaffney Architects

Ambassador Award:

Forsinard Lookout Tower - Icosis Architects

Riverside Campus, City of Glasgow College - Michael Laird Architects / Reiach and Hall Architects

The Kirroughtree Visitor Centre - J M Architects

York Art Gallery - Ushida Findlay Simpson Brown

Wood Award:

9 Succoth Park - Goodburn Baillie (Architecture) Ltd

Craigdon Mountain Sports Retail Facility - Oberlanders Architects LLP

Edinburgh Academy Hockey Pavilion - Richard Murphy Architects

The 2016 Judges are Ben Rainger RIAS - EAA Junior Vice President, Gloria Lo RIAS - EAA CPD Coordinator, Mark Douglas Lead Officer (Built Heritage & Design) - Scottish Borders Council and Anna Stuart MBE - Chair of Cassiltoun Trust.

The results will be announced at a celebratory drinks event at the Edinburgh Centre for Carbon Innovation on Thursday 5th May 2016 from 6pm-9pm. A limited number of tickets for the event are available free of charge to architects within the Chapter area of Edinburgh, the Lothians, the Borders and south Fife. These can be obtained by applying to Stuart Bryce mail@eaa.org.uk. Tickets will be allocated on a first-come, first-served basis.

An exhibition showcasing the shortlisted entries is due to be held at the RIAS, Joyce B Deans room at 15 Rutland Square, Edinburgh from mid April 2016. This will be open to the public from 9.00am until 5.00pm Monday to Friday. Images of the short listed entries will be available to view on our website shortly.

The EAA is a chapter of the Royal Incorporation of Architects in Scotland

Last modified at 2:06pm on Thu 15th December 2016